RSS

One Person’s Lessons from Hurricane Sandy

05 Nov

kirstinopgenorth:

Wonderful article! I hope you do not mind a reblog to my site!

Originally posted on Psyche's Circuitry:

As a resident of downtown Manhattan, my family and I were affected by Hurricane Sandy. But the worst that happened to us was losing power and water, and having to walk up and down 28 flights of stairs to get ourselves and our stuff out of our apartment so we could move to our dear friend’s apartment on the Upper East Side (where we are now totally safe and comfortable). Our kids feel displaced and are missing their routines and friends, and my husband and I are inconvenienced and feel, strangely, like tourists in our own city. But that’s the worst of it. This is obviously NOT a poor me story.

But this experience has opened my eyes to a few things. In addition to teaching me about the enduring kindness of strangers in this supposedly rude and impersonal digital age, this experience has taught me a few new things…

View original 649 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “One Person’s Lessons from Hurricane Sandy

  1. Katheryn Gaspard

    November 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the finest sites on the net. I will highly recommend this web site!

     
    • kirstinopgenorth

      November 7, 2012 at 12:27 am

      Thank you! I appreciate all feedback from readers!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

